top of page

"Thanks to a Great Community" by Mara Decku

Coming to a High School as an exchange student is great, but coming to Lake Region is even greater. Lake Region is not just a High School, it is a community that has an incredible amazing spirit. Everybody works together, everybody knows each other and everybody supports the school. The first day I came here I was incredibly nervous. I had no idea how my first day is going to go. But I was welcomed and well received from the first moment. I needed help? I became help. There was always someone to talk to or someone who answered my questions. Within days I felt comfortable as if I would have been here for years. People asked me about german words, they wanted to know how school is in Germany or they just asked if everything is fine. What I really appreciate about Lake Region that everybody is open-minded and that there is the great team spirit. I don’t even know where to begin.

First of all there is Mr. Messier who gave me the opportunity to come to such a great school. It is incredible to see how he remembers all the students names and how he says goodbye or hello to every single student, but also how important the school is for him. How important it is just to check in with a student and see if everything is alright. Thanks to Mr. Chamberlin who created a great schedule for me. Than there is Mrs. Rivard who was always interested in my first language. In the middle of French class she asked me about a word and how it is said in Germany. She was interested in the German culture, how I celebrate Christmas, but she also told me about her trips to Europe. It is great to talk to someone who really likes Europe and wants to know more about it.

Mr. Laurie who has a great sense of humor. I was able to joke around in the hallway, to be sarcastic or just to talk about different languages. Walking through the hallways and get a high five and a cheerful smile from Mr. Evans was always encouraging. Than there is Mrs. Suarez who taught me how to see things from a different point of view, who always gives me something to think about. It is great how all this small talk I had with different teachers improved my English, but also my experience here in Vermont.

Every morning I go to the library and Mrs. Loukes greets me with a happy “How are you doing?”. I get a laptop and if I need help, she’s there to help me. Furthermore there are the lunch ladies, who are doing a great job. To cook for so many students doesn’t seem easy to me. They are always kind and gentle and waiting so patient,too. I think that they do an amazing job. And I think there are so much more people who support this community, who are a part of this community and I think that’s amazing. Also the students welcomed me in a great way that I am proud to be part of this.

I am not used to this School Spirit that much, but what I experience here is that really everyone is supporting the community. That has really made my experience in Vermont better than it is already. People are supported in sports, arts and every other activity. This strong company that is so open-minded and welcome so many new people every year is simply great. I just want to say thank you for the incredible support, for the help I get and for having the opportunity to be part of this great community. Thanks a lot!

Ranger POst!!!

 

This is a blog for all kinds of writing from and about LR. If you've got something you want to put up here, check out the "Submit" link above. We're looking especially for reports about things going on at LR - sports games, events, interviews... anything!

 

 We hope you enjoy reading!!

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page