top of page

Letter To D.D / I'm Not Scared of You Anymore

Are you happy?

Are you happy you lied?

Are you happy you got away with it?

Are you happy I was left without a brother?

My best friend, my protector

The one I told everything too

Are you happy you destroyed my family?

My parents divorced because they couldn’t handle the pain that was inside them tearing them apart death

They say death brings you closer, but for my family it only tore us apart

How do you live everyday knowing you shot my brother and his life was in your hands but instead of calling 911, you call your father first while my brother laid on the floor and bled to death?

He laid on the floor holding where the bullet just impaled him

His last words were, “You just shot me”

He was a brother, son, nephew, grandson, and a cousin

Loved to hunt, fish, play soccer

He was jokester and always said what was on his mind

Was a pro at doing the rubix cube and making youtube videos

He knew how to crack a joke at the most weirdest times and make a whole room laugh

He was a straight A student in all honor classes

He received a certificate from the president at his 8th grade graduation for never missing school from grade K to 8th

Not one day

Are you happy you took that from us?

He was one of your only friends

You were an outsider and my brother believed that everyone deserved to have a friend so he became yours

At least that's what he thought

Are you happy five years has gone by and you're still off the hook?

While you live your life shooting up drugs, I’m finding a way to find justice for my brother

They say the good die young, and for my brother that is true

I’m eighteen now and i’m going to do all that I can to give my brother the justice he deserves

Even if this poem is the only way

I’ll always fight for my brother, unlike the cops

I mean, I guess that's what happens when the evidence gets hidden because your uncle is a cop

But, I’ll try my hardest to tell my brothers story

The real story

In all reality my brothers life wasn't the only life taken,

My cousin almost overdosed because he couldn't handle the pain of losing his best friend,

My dad almost went back to drinking

My mom almost went off the edge

And the list goes on

I had to grow up faster than any other thirteen year old

I had to be there for my baby sister who couldn't understand why her brother never came back home.

Most importantly I had to be there for myself because none of my friends understood the pain I was going through

They were always there for me, but never understood the reality

I learned to never take anything for granted because it could be here one day and gone the next

I learned to be strong

To do everything in my power to make my brother proud

I learned to not be scared of you anymore


Ranger POst!!!

 

This is a blog for all kinds of writing from and about LR. If you've got something you want to put up here, check out the "Submit" link above. We're looking especially for reports about things going on at LR - sports games, events, interviews... anything!

 

 We hope you enjoy reading!!

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page