top of page

Color Poetry


RED

A beating heart-

Passion.

It colors my life

Through the ink that is my blood.

I would see painted lips

Under flashing neon lights,

Fresh bricks virtually glowing

Among unwatered grass,

A drop of juice

From a strawberry bitten by a king,

And the flushed faces

Of love at first sight.

A beating heart-

Passion.

I would see blood stains on carpet

Just minutes old,

The glowing embers

Of an angry forest fire,

The once pearly eyes that lost their glow

Due to insomnia and fear,

And the unseen mental switch

From “flight” to “fight.”

A beating heart-

Passion.

I would see the way

Monochrome models turn their head,

And expose the backs

That had been against wet paint.

They’d prefer to sulk,

Their angry faces meeting the corner.

They see my paint

Like it was their blood on my hands,

From their own beating hearts,

Rather than my passion.

----

YELLOW

I strive not

To smile like the sun

Or to satisfy the greedy gluttons.

I prefer to stay

Under sickly skin

And behind the envied eyes

Of a wicked wolf.

I’ve struck fear, not gold.

I strive not

To be beautifully bright,

Or to follow regal brick roads-

I prefer to stray

Towards stagnant, still water

And blind those who pass,

Snacking at skin like

Corrosive sulfur.

All that glitters

Is not gold,

All that’s gold

Is not gleeful,

And all that’s gleeful

Does not glitter.

We do not jump

Towards the jaundiced.

I strive not

To smile like the sun

Or to satisfy the greedy gluttons.

I prefer to stay

Under sickly skin

And behind the envied eyes

Of a wicked wolf.

I’ve struck fear, not gold.

----

BLUE

Inside me there is a storm,

Filling an ocean of sadness.

Invisible to all

Is my beautiful madness.

My walls are opaque,

And my door is closed.

But there was an onlooker

Waiting.

Inside me there is a field,

Full of forget-me-nots.

They haven’t been watered,

And their stems are in knots.

The sky is cloudless

And they cannot sleep,

But there was a gardener

Waiting.

Inside me there is a demon,

Behind oceanic eyes.

It paints my soul with worn denim,

And feeds on my cries.

It created a hell

Made just for me,

But there was a miracle

Waiting.

My shell is of a robin’s egg,

My guts are computers, crashed.

It takes a beautiful heart

To see past the rash.

It takes a royal soul

To see art as I stand woefully,

To see my eyes as windows,

And to hear my words as poetry.

I felt like a lone raindrop

Doomed to fall,

But that onlooker,

That gardener,

That miracle,

Showed me that, instead,

I’m a pigmented ocean,

Vibrant and beautiful.

----

BROWN

Some indulge in bright,

Vibrant rainbows.

Some find peace

In pretty pastels.

What I prefer

Is the aftermath-

Of passionate fires

And coffee roasted dark.

Some get lost

In hard-hitting pigments.

Some find peace

In golden glitter.

What I prefer

Is the rich darkness-

Of melting chocolate

That I’m sinking into.

The world stares

At bright screens

Full of better lives

And false riches.

It indulges

In robotic acts

And shining chrome-

All pleasing lies.

But I prefer to stare

At a pair of eyes-

Black holes in the darkness

And sweet caramel in the light.

I would rather indulge

In a soul beyond all art,

Beyond any plot or poem’s beauty,

And beyond any price tag.

Rasping as your voice may be,

It doesn’t matter.

Continue your gorgeous stare,

Keep our windows aligned, and

You and I will leave this world.

Jewel tears rain, but they

Always magnify your soul.

Dance with me through space

Eternally.


Ranger POst!!!

 

This is a blog for all kinds of writing from and about LR. If you've got something you want to put up here, check out the "Submit" link above. We're looking especially for reports about things going on at LR - sports games, events, interviews... anything!

 

 We hope you enjoy reading!!

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page