top of page

Light out of Darkness

Growing up I lived the life of every average happy child. The fact that I was happy was because I was oblivious. Oblivious to the constant battle between my parents. Court dates, custody agreements, meetings, to me it was just having two homes. Two homes two happy families, so I thought. In my 10th year my world took a turn I’d never thought imaginable. The loving perfect mother I once saw couldn’t hide her secrets from the now non oblivious child. As I got older the window of lies became clear. The mother I once knew was now hidden behind a darkness of substance abuse.

The life my mother chose to pursue dragged me along in her darkness. Four schools, five different homes, and exposed to situation most kids couldn’t bear to hear. I remember coming home from school one day happy to tell my mother about my day. When I walked through the door I could see tears in her eyes. The only thing she said to me was “go pack your things we are leaving.” To most children these words would seem terrifying. To me they were just the words I’d been waiting to hear knowing it was bound to happen again. The hardest part wasn’t what I was dragged through; the hardest part was losing her. Losing her to the darkness, and losing her when she tried to get help. That worked for awhile, but like daylight it eventually descended to darkness.

Through the darkness eventually came a light. That light was my father. For once I had someone on my side, someone there fighting for me, someone who wouldn’t give up until they won. My father pulled me out of my suffering and provided me with the life I should have been living all along. Through the storm eventually comes a rainbow and I finally got my rainbow. Finally had one home one stable happy home, a good school, and friends I knew I could make knowing I wouldn’t be yanked out of their lives one day.

I managed to have a strong head on my shoulders, not allowing myself to succumb to the darkness. It pushed me through the hard times and focused me on the only thing that mattered. What I wanted in life: to be successful and pursue my lifelong dream of working in the medical field, to provide the children I will one day have with a loving caring mother, one they can look up to. My struggles have made me a much stronger person. Hardworking and independent.

You can hold a grudge for the rest of your life or you can forgive. Forgiving doesn’t necessarily mean forgetting. Forgetting my hardships is something I wouldn’t choose to do . Looking back on the struggles I have realized they made me who I am.

Through that darkness out came a shooting star. A shooting star that wouldn’t let anything get in her way. I remember the look people would give me and continue to give me when I tell them about my past. The look of sympathy the look of feeling bad. The fact of the matter is if I could go back in time and change the life I had to live, I wouldn’t change a thing. My past has made me the person I am today. I left that shy oblivious child I once was in the darkness when, pulled out by the light, I found the person I was bound to be.


Ranger POst!!!

 

This is a blog for all kinds of writing from and about LR. If you've got something you want to put up here, check out the "Submit" link above. We're looking especially for reports about things going on at LR - sports games, events, interviews... anything!

 

 We hope you enjoy reading!!

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page