top of page

Where I'm From (after George Ella Lyon)

I am from bunkbeds,

From home cooking and backyard swing sets.

I am from the linoleum floors from under the table.

(Cool, tight, and the smell of shoes.)

I am from the line of Christmas trees, going up my hill.

From the mosquitoes that gave me mountains.

I’m from chlorine pools,

From pages that filled my mind.

I’m from mess makers and organizers

From Vallieres and Disotell

Canada and New York.

I am from Kidz pop

From “Catdog” and “Hey Arnold”.

I am from spaghetti and potatoes.

I am from the helpers and non helpers

Between two old and one young

From the fish and the little dog.

I am from bestfriends and sisters

From bed tents to Bratz dolls

I am from raspberries and apple trees

From Cuzens to bedtime stories

I am from memories of loud music, that was forbidden

From behind the recliner, to hiking a ride on the big feet.

I am from memories that are too good to let go

Now I work, and learn

For Collage is my next step

With my dream home down deep,

The charming old New Orleans Calling to me.


Ranger POst!!!

 

This is a blog for all kinds of writing from and about LR. If you've got something you want to put up here, check out the "Submit" link above. We're looking especially for reports about things going on at LR - sports games, events, interviews... anything!

 

 We hope you enjoy reading!!

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page