top of page

Ways I'm Socially Anxious - by Anonymous ‘17


1.

I can’t speak publicly, and

When asked what I’d like to

Order at a restaurant, my

Heart begins to race.

If they happen to bring the wrong

Dish I’ll simply suffer through it,

Because it’s easier

Than having to talk to the

Waitress again.

I don’t enjoy hanging out

With people outside of

My best friends.

But don’t worry, don’t be

Offended, It isn’t you.

It’s the concept.

2.

I communicate best through text,

Because you can’t stutter through text,

And it isn’t impolite

Not to look you in the eye.

Not that I will in person anyway.

I’m not good at talking

To people

And most times I prefer the company of dogs

Particularly my own.

3.

I find solace in my Art

And on Tumblr,

I don’t like the concept

Of being around people,

I won’t make plans

With you

And I won’t assume

We’re friends

Unless you say we are.

4.

I have a resting bitch face

And sometimes I put in

Headphones

Just so I won’t have to

Talk to you.

But it’s not because I don’t like you

It’s because I don’t particularly

Like me

And maybe you might not

Like me either.

I’ll turn music

Up

So I don’t accidentally hear

You hoping to have conversations

With my hollow head.

I cast my eyes

Down

Don’t dare look at

The gestures you

Generate to get my

Attention.

5.

I need constant

Comfort

Reassurance

And you’ll render

Me annoying.

I’ll assume so

Anyway.

6.

I don’t like parties

Or particularly pople

Filled events

Unless it’s a concert.

Cause in music I confide I find comfort

And I know

People there

Find that same solace

In singers voices

And guitarist’s riffs.

7. I don’t want to be

Reading this or

Standing here or

Stuck in school

At all.

As I stand here I am conquering

The quiver of my voice

And the quaking in my

Knees

Not fear

But me.

8.

I will not

Smile at you as you walk by

Because I’m afraid you won’t

Smile back.


Ranger POst!!!

 

This is a blog for all kinds of writing from and about LR. If you've got something you want to put up here, check out the "Submit" link above. We're looking especially for reports about things going on at LR - sports games, events, interviews... anything!

 

 We hope you enjoy reading!!

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page