top of page

Thank Him For Being Him

My Brother Troy

I want to thank him for being him.. Without his goofy laugh and loving personality, life just wouldn’t be the same. Every time I watch our home videos of the day you first saw me when I came home from the hospital, I always smile. I smile because starting on that day I knew his life had changed, maybe not for the better in his eyes, but I knew he had my back from that day forward. He was no longer the spoiled one and he was no longer the only child Mom and Dad had to take care of. But from the excitement he shared with all of us that day, I knew he’d be okay sharing his life with me.

I want to thank him for being him. I want to thank him for being the shoulder I can cry on when times get hard. I want to thank him for supporting me in every decision I make in life instead of tearing me down. I can’t help but think of how much things will change when I go off to college in the fall, but I just hope he’ll miss me nearly as much as I’ll miss him.

I want to thank him for being him. Thank him for coming into the store on Saturday and Sunday mornings and stand there while he eats his breakfast that I just made him. He’ll never know how much that truly means to me. I want to thank him for making me laugh even when I don’t feel like smiling. For always knowing when something is wrong, even before I know when something is wrong with myself. For all the times that he’s told me I deserve better and for all the times he’s told me to do it if it made me happy. Because all he ever wants is for his little sister to be happy. Even if it means losing a couple friends in the process.

I want to thank him for being him. Thank him for finally giving me the flashlight when we walked lines in the dark, even though he waited for me to hit my knee super hard. Thank him for catching that cow in the pasture, knowing he’d rather break his ankle instead of me breaking mine means a lot, or maybe it was just because he wanted to brag about being able to run faster than his little sister. Either way, thank him for making me laugh when he fell face first on the ground after he bolted past me that night.

I want to thank him for being him. Thank him for being a fun person to be around instead of someone who just sits around playing video games. Thank him for spending his money on mud trucks and fourwheelers just so we can have fun. Thank him for going on long deer rides with me while the music is blaring, just to get our minds off of things. Thank him for telling me when I’m wrong, even when I believe I’m 100% right. Thank him for showing me how a guy is suppose to treat a girl, and thank him for showing me that hard work really does pay off. Even if you have to have 3 or 4 jobs to get there.

I want to thank him for being him. Thank him for being my big brother and best friend.


Ranger POst!!!

 

This is a blog for all kinds of writing from and about LR. If you've got something you want to put up here, check out the "Submit" link above. We're looking especially for reports about things going on at LR - sports games, events, interviews... anything!

 

 We hope you enjoy reading!!

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page